Dusk - The Fragile Escape / Butterflies EP

Dusk Cover
1. The Fragile Escape (3:52)
2. Butterflies (3:24)
3. Slave (5:08)
4. You Don't Know (3:02)
5. One Eye for Freedom (5:07)
6. Slave (Live On RTRFM) (4:55)

» Download all tracks (34.9 MB)
Brad Treeby (guitar / vocals)
Rohan Irvin (bass guitar)
Benn Landers (drums / percussion)
Matt Irvin (guitars / harmonica / trumpet)

Liner Notes:
Recorded at Studio Couch 2005 in Fremantle, Western Australia. Engineered / mixed / mastered by Shaun O'Callaghan. Produced by Dusk and Shaun O'Callaghan

Hailing from Fremantle, Western Australia, Dusk was the musical prelude to Brad Treeby & the Simplists. Formed in 2003 by four school friends, the group played regularly around Perth and Australia's south west. In 2004, the band appeared as state finalists in the National Campus Bands Competition, and in 2005 they won the Rio Festival's 'Blast Off' competition which funded The Fragile Escape / Butterflies EP, Dusk's debut and only release. The title track, The Fragile Escape, featured a number of times on national youth broadcaster Triple J's Roots n All, a program on which the band were also a guest during a 2006 tour to Melbourne. Dusk disbanded at the end of 2006, their final show being the launch party for the Routes to Blues compilation released by Canopy Records.

"With what I'm convinced is a spiritual South West connection, Fremantle band Dusk's first EP is a soulful blues roots experience combining strong and heartfelt lyrics with switched-on musicianship."   Brett Ladhams, Rip-In Magazine, 16th February 2006

"There is something simply nice in hearing some acoustic guitars, bass, a little drums and a wholesome harmonica."   Garry McKenzie, Rockus Online Magazine, March 2006

» Return to Music